Find Cultural attractions Attractions in , search things to do and see in your holiday location with Tourism TAS.
Tiagarra (a Tasmanian Aboriginal word meaning 'keep' or 'keeping place') is an interpretation centre for the history and present-day cultures and art of Tasmanian Aboriginal people.
The Centre is located on Mersey Bluff, a traditional Aboriginal sacred site on the Mersey River. It is one of the few Tasmanian sites where ancient Aboriginal rock carvings, (or petroglyphs) are still well preserved. A local schoolteacher discovered the petroglyphs in 1929, and over 200 engravings were subsequently found. Tiagarra was established at the site in 1976 in order to protect them.
The Quoll Artists Gallery, in Hobart's Salamanca Place, specialises in work by Tasmanian artists. The gallery is located in the Salamanca Arts Centre, close to Hobart's waterfront and a short walk from the city's central business district. Quoll is a co-operative of nine professional Tasmanian artists, and the gallery features fine art, jewellery, textiles and ceramics. Choose from fine art paintings in watercolour, oils, acrylic and mixed media - ranging in style from traditional to contemporary. Select your own piece of handmade jewellery - including work crafted from fresh water pearls and abalone, antique china and ceramic. A range of other craft items is also available at Quoll - including silk scarves, pottery and handmade knives. You can visit several other galleries in Salamanca Place. The Salamanca Arts Centre hosts a vibrant program of changing exhibitions in the Long Gallery, Sidespace Gallery, Loft Gallery and Top Gallery. You can also visit the Off Centre Gallery, Handmark Gallery, Aspect Design and the Salamanca Collection in Salamanca Place to see work by some of Tasmania's best artisans.
The Discovery Centre contains a wealth of information relating to the history of the Stanley district and many items of interest collected in the area. Some of the items on display include: Antique bric-a-brac, Photographic display, numerous household and farming utensils of settlement days, 1850 wedding gown, marine curios, relics from ships that once sailed in the area. bowsprit of ship Kermandie, mineral display, and locally made souvenirs and handcrafts are for sale. Genealogy search AUD5 which includes your entry fee. Opening hours of the centre are 1000 - 1600 daily from September to June. The centre is closed weekdays June, July, August. It is possible to access the centre by appointment outside of opening hours.
The development of Queenstown and the West Coast are featured in more than 900 photographs displayed in the 23 rooms of this museum. The pre-1940s photographs were collected and the museum established by Mr Eric Thomas. There are also items of household equipment and personal effects,old documents, coins, cameras from the 1930s, a display of early theatre projectors, antique mantel clocks, a collection of kerosene lamps, medallions, badges and chinaware featuring the Royal Family from Queen Victoria to the present. Watch the video on Mount Lyell, Queenstown and the Abt Railway in the early 60s. - A Century of Copper, Eric Thomas by Charles Woolley and Story of Lyell; Long Live The King, while enjoying a refreshing cuppa.
Under The Oak Handmade Gallery and Gifts is located at 103a Reibey Street, Ulverstone,Tasmania. Featuring 100 percent handmade, Tasmanian products from over 40 Tasmanian designers. Items include unique jewellery and accessories, art, photography, homewares, vintage clothing, children's items, papercraft and more. With 100 percent of the sales paid directly back to the designer and no commission taken, Under The Oak is supporting Tasmanian talent in art, craft and design through this unique business concept. Each designer rents a space in the store, receiving back their entire sales at the end of every month. Many items are a 'one off' creation, all handmade from designers around the state. Treat yourself to some retail therapy whilst shopping for Tasmanian handmade products in a roomy relaxed atmosphere. Under The Oak is also located within close walking distance from many of Ulverstone's popular tourist attractions, including the War Memorial Town 'Clock', the Historic Museum and the Visitor Information Centre.
Bicheno Motorcycle Museum is a unique museum dedicated motorcycles. There are 70 motorcycles on display at any given time and the display is always changing. We also carry out motorcycle restorations, and sell vintage spare parts and tyres, road and dirt tyres. We also buy and sell vintage and modern motorcycles.
The Touchwood Craft Gallery is located at Stanley, north-west Tasmania. Stanley is an hour's drive north-west of Burnie (78 kilometres/49 miles) and 90 minutes from Devonport (127 kilometres/79 miles). The Touchwood Craft Gallery specialises in fine Tasmanian artworks. You can browse the Gallery's collection of hand-made pottery, blown glass, pewter, jewellery and fine woodcraft made from Tasmanian speciality timbers. Artisans include Barry Mousley - who is exclusively represented by Touchwood - Crickhollow Pottery, the Tasmanian Kaleidoscope Company, West Tamar Woodcrafts and Tasmanian Glassblowers, among many others. Many of the artworks are for sale and phone orders are also accepted. Treat yourself to aromatic coffee and home-baked treats in the Touchwood café. Sample freshly baked cakes, muffins or scones slathered in fresh cream and fruity jam, or enjoy a gourmet snack or light meal from the menu which features fine Tasmanian produce, including fresh local seafood. Touchwood also offers bed and breakfast, cottage accommodation overlooking the ocean and dramatic Stanley coastline.
The Furneaux Museum on Flinders Island showcases the history of the Furneaux Group of Islands. Relics from shipwrecks and other artefacts are housed in seven buildings which themselves are exhibits. The museum has artefacts from some of Australia's earliest European settlement, such as an anchor from the Sydney Cove, wrecked on Preservation Island in 1797. The dark history of the Wybalenna settlement is recorded in the Aboriginal Room, together with an exquisite collection of Aboriginal shell necklaces. Relics from many of the shipwrecks that occurred around the islands are housed in the Nissan Hut. The Mutton Bird Hut gives an authentic glimpse into an island tradition. Other exhibits demonstrate the geology, fauna, shells, bird life and early pioneering life of the islands. A collection of albums and photographs cover all aspects of life in the Furneaux Group and provide an invaluable tool for researchers. The Museum is housed in buildings which reflect the history of the Furneaux region. Dryazell, for instance, was once a private school and schoolmaster's residence. A visit to the museum can be combined with a trip to Wybalenna Chapel and Cemetery and several idyllic beaches. Flinders Island is a 45-minute flight from Launceston or Melbourne. Please note entry payment is by cash only.
The Tasmanian Transport Museum in Hobart includes Tasmanian railways history displays, tram cars and locomotives. The New Town Railway Station has been rebuilt at the museum and a new platform added. The station masters' office and signal room have been retained and restored to original condition. The former ladies waiting room and store have been developed as a display area of relics and photographs featuring the history of Tasmanian railways. There are seven steam locomotives, two operational diesel-electric locomotives, two operational diesel rail cars, six carriages and numerous goods wagons. Electric vehicles include three tram cars and two Hobart trolley buses. Train rides using a diesel railcar are run on the first Sunday each month and a vintage steam locomotive runs on the third Sunday of the month.
Markree House Museum and Garden is a historical gem located in inner city Hobart. Markree was built in 1926 in the Arts and Crafts Movement style by architect Bernard Ridley Walker for Cecil and Ruth Baldwin. The house contains its original 1910s-20s furnishings together with older portraits and family heirlooms from Ruth Baldwin's family - the Manings, Knights, Fletchers and Hones - who had come to Hobart in the 1820s as merchants, civil servants and lawyers. Markree's rare, surviving 1920s garden was laid out by Cecil Baldwin in an informal Arts and Crafts Movement style. Cecil and Ruth Baldwin's son, Henry (1919-2007), bequeathed the house and its original contents to the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery. Markree specialises in the social history and design of the early 20th century with guided tours and changing displays to highlight aspects of the collection. Ask about our group booking rate and joint ticket with Narryna Heritage Museum, located 200 meters from Markree and offering insights into Hobart life 100 years earlier.
The Deloraine Folk Museum dates from 1856 and is located at Deloraine in Tasmania's north. The cottage was originally built for the Johnstone family. The building was extended and opened as the Family and Commercial Inn between 1863 and 1894. During most of the twentieth century it was used for accommodation and offices. In 1972, Mrs Alma Bramich donated the building and land to the community to house the Deloraine Folk Museum. The museum now reflects the life of a country publican and his family. The tour takes you through the cottage, pub, Jimmy Possum snug and exhibition gallery. You will then move out into the Alma Bramich garden, dairy, blacksmith's shop and vehicle shed. The museum is located at the Great Western Tiers Visitor Centre, 98-100 Emu Bay Road, Deloraine. It is open from 9am to 5pm daily. Deloraine is approximately 45-minutes' drive west from Launceston (53 kilometres/33 miles). Geneology service also available.
Step back in time and wander through a comprehensive display of artefacts, manuscripts, tools and photographs depicting the life of our early pioneers. Also available are research facilities for the Central Coast district including school registers, births, deaths and marriages, burials, property valuations, family histories, assessment rolls, post office directories, war records and other items of interest. For those visitors of the older generation we trust that they will enjoy wandering down memory lane and for those of younger years we hope that they will gain some insight into our past.
The Mill Providore and Gallery showcases Tasmania's fine foods, art works and handcrafted gifts. The Mill Providore and Gallery is located in the top two floors of a historic 1830s flour mill on the banks of the Tamar river, above Stillwater Restaurant. The contemporary art gallery showcases Tasmanian artists with new exhibition openings every month. The gallery features works in a range of mediums from paintings, drawings and photography to sculpture, textiles and furniture design. The Mill is also the perfect place for gifts, especially handmade arts and crafts - including jewellery, pottery, ceramics, textiles and wood design. Find a unique gift or something special for your own home. The Mill is an essential shopping experience in a visit to Launceston, situated at the beginning of a scenic walk to The Gorge.
Richardsons Harley-Davidson Museum and Café showcases motorcycle memorabilia dating back to 1940 in Westbury, Tasmania. Simon Hrycyszyn (Richardson) is the driving force behind the museum and Tasmania's oldest Harley-Davidson dealership. The museum contains interesting treasure including a 1900s pedal bike with a plate that reads 'A.G. Flannery-Harley-Gallion Co,' an extremely rare piece. Wander through the museum and enjoy stepping back in time with a 1940 ex Army Indian Scout and two J-model Harley-Davidsons. Donations from enthusiasts have assisted in the expansion of the museum. Learn about the history of the property, as Simon began in a workshop beneath his father's house repairing motorcycles, before moving to a simple tin shed and later constructing the two-story building it is today. The building itself is worth a look, made primarily from recycled materials. The pre-owned parts section is built from Harley-Davidson bike crates, the flooring from telegraph poles and structural beams from wharf pylons. While you are in Westbury, wander through the quaint village, established in the 1820s as a garrison town. Visit the White House Museum, Westbury Maze and Pearn's world famous Steam World. Westbury is an easy 20-minute drive from Launceston (35 kilometres/22 miles).
Museum of Old and New Art - MONA opened in Hobart in January 2011. It houses a collection that ranges from ancient Egyptian mummies to some of the world's most infamous and thought-provoking contemporary art. The building's subterranean design and the owner's unconventional and challenging curatorial approach make it a must-see for any visitor to Australia. MONA takes a different approach to interpretation: there are no labels or wall texts. Instead, visitors are given a touch-screen device, which is sensitive to their location in the museum - showing them works in their proximity. Called the 'O', it allows visitors to select the level of information they need and to vote for works they 'hate' or 'love'. Itinerary options include a MONA fast catamaran service from the Hobart waterfront or MONA-ROMA mini-bus transport; day and night packages with indulgence, wine and food experiences available. MONA is on the River Derwent, just 15 minutes' drive north of Hobart, Tasmania. Open six days a week, 10am - 6pm. Closed Tuesdays.
The Academy Gallery is located at the University of Tasmania, at Inveresk, northern Tasmania. The gallery is dedicated to the pursuit of excellence by exhibiting contemporary art and design including works from Tasmania's School of Visual and Performing Arts students. The modern gallery is a Level A class exhibition space incorporated into the Inveresk cultural precinct. It represents the new public face of the University of Tasmania. The viewing audience consists of members of the Launceston community and nearby regional centres, national and international visitors and numerous primary and secondary school groups. The gallery welcomes full participatory interest and engagement with its local constituency and visitors to Tasmania. The exhibition program includes international exhibition projects, exhibitions by well-known Australian and emerging artists, craftspeople, designers, as well as student exhibitions. The program aims to display art, craft and design that has the capacity to be insightful, challenging and rewarding to a wide cross-section of the community. The Academy Gallery exhibition program focuses on production of exhibitions for touring intrastate, interstate and internationally as well as attracting high quality exhibitions from across the globe. The Academy Gallery is approximately 10-minutes walk from Launceston's central business district.
On Australia Day 2012 the Avoca Museum and Information Centre officially opened in Boucher Park. The 103 year old heritage listed building has been restored by Greater Esk Tourism to promote the beautiful Fingal Valley region as the "Valleys of Adventure" offering mountain climbs, bush walks, waterfalls and the world's tallest white gums. The old State School opened in 1908 at a cost of 348 pounds, and in 1929 there were 73 pupils enrolled. Prime Minister Joe Lyons visited the school in 1936, the year the wireless set and electric power were installed. A new school was built in 1951 and the Country Women's Association used the old building for many years but it fell into disrepair and suffered years of neglect until Greater Esk Tourism set about seeking restoration funding. After many unsuccessful attempts the volunteer group obtained AUD193,000 from the Urban Renewal and Heritage Fund, Tasmanian Community Fund, the Foundation for Rural and Regional Renewal, Arts Tasmania and other bodies to fund the work, with volunteers completing the restoration. The Avoca Museum and Information Centre was opened by Mayor Kim Polley OAM at the Northern Midlands Council Australia Day celebrations.
Wellington Gallery, established in 1976, nestled amongst bushland in the foothills of spectacular Mount Wellington - a ten minute drive from Hobart's city centre. The gallery exhibits over one hundred works in two display areas surrounding a fern courtyard. Works by Australian and overseas artists in watercolour, acrylic, oil and ceramics are displayed in the spacious rooms of the gallery. Browse and relax in the scenic, tranquil surroundings away from the city crowds. The exhibition space is available for hire on a weekly basis. It is also possible to rent artworks from the gallery. Freight can be arranged world-wide.
As an island state, the sea is significant to all Tasmanians and the islands boast a strong maritime heritage. The Maritime Museum of Tasmania explores the connections between the people of the islands and the influence of the sea on their lives. Discover the craft and art of centuries of Tasmanian ship building from an example of an aboriginal bark canoe through wooden boats to modern aluminium fast ferries. You can learn how important sailing and steam ships were for developing Tasmanian industries exporting raw materials and products of the islands, such as apples, minerals and timber, as well as the influence of early European explorers and whalers. Navigational instruments show how mariners found their way across the seas while archaeological discoveries from shipwrecks around the Tasmanian islands show how challenging, difficult and dangerous the seafarer's life could be. The Museum can be found in the Carnegie Building, at Sullivan's Cove, a short walk from Hobart's central business district and across the road from Constitution Dock, the historic heart of Maritime Hobart. We are open 0900 until 1700, seven days a week EXCEPT Good Friday and Christmas Day.
Nolan Art, in Hobart's Salamanca Art Centre, offers art workshops and original Tasmanian art. Nolan Art Gallery and School, established in 1999 by art teacher, Betty Nolan, is in Salamanca's historic stone warehouses. Not only a gallery for original Tasmanian art, it is where you can take a full or half day art workshop. Suitable for all levels, they range from oil painting and watercolour to illustration and drawing. You may like to explore an option where art tourists can book for a combination of private tuition and studio time and/or participate in a class to meet local artists. You could also surprise your partner with a portrait painting birthday party as art parties are another of the services we offer. Schoolholiday classes in subjects such as charcoal drawing and Manga drawing run for children as well. Nolan Art is across the landing from the renowned Long Gallery and looks down on Kelly's Lane in Hobart's waterfront art and restaurant precinct
The Court House Museum is located in Latrobe on Tasmania's beautiful north west coast. It tells the story of Latrobe and surrounding areas since European settlement began in the mid nineteenth century. The centre of a rich agricultural and forestry district the town has also been a major port on the north west coast, the site of the Tasmania's oil shale industry and birthplace of competitive wood chopping in Australia. The Museum tells its stories through changing displays and rich photographic collections. Admission: National Trust members free. Gold coin donation. Children under age of 18 free.
Enjoy the Environmental Art Gallery at The Ugly Duck Out on Tasmania's sunny east coast. Resident artist Robyn Klobusiak uses the mediums of photography and paint to create a fusion of art and nature. Her images call for the wild world to endure.
Beyond recording the beauty of nature, Robyn's Environmental Art cries out for its protection. She hopes her work inspires people to change behaviour, conserve nature and nurture our planet's vanishing spirit.
Photographic images, painted rocks and painted skulls of road kill feature at the gallery. All her work is designed to touch peoples' hearts, change peoples' minds and perhaps provoke action. At the very least it reminds us of our earth's inspiring beauty and visually challenges us to define the line between our nature and our art.
The casual family restaurant within the gallery specialises in dietary requirements. The globally inspired menu features produce from the on-site vegetable and herb garden. All other produce, meats and seafood are locally and sustainably sourced. Try the Wallaby Goulash, East Coast Calamari or the locally cured bacon and eco-pig. The Ugly Duck Out is also a holder of Ecotourism Australia Accreditation.
The National Automobile Museum of Tasmania in Launceston features one of Australia's most significant motoring collections. Spanning over one hundred years of style and technical achievement this impressive collection of traditional and contemporary automobiles is a must see for all those who appreciate history, design, engineering and style. The museum comes alive with four sensational theme displays each year as well as constantly changing exhibits in the main hall and a mezzanine floor packed with motorcycles. Along with over one hundred exhibits the museum features a unique gift shop with a magnificent range of merchandise that will delight people of all ages. Situated just one block from the city centre opposite Launceston's beautiful City Park, a visit to The National Automobile Museum of Tasmania is an ideal way to spend a leisurely afternoon. Open every day (except Christmas day) 9am to 5pm. Opening times during winter are 10am to 4pm.
Located on Hobart's historic waterfront, the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery (TMAG) has recently undergone a spectacular $30 million redevelopment. The second oldest museum in Australia, TMAG has its origins in the collections of the country's oldest scientific society, the Royal Society of Tasmania, which was established in 1843. Opened in March 2013, the redevelopment includes more than 2,000 square metres of new public and exhibition spaces, a centralised visitor services hub and a new Courtyard Café. Visitors can now experience more of this unique site than ever before, including a fascinating range of nationally significant archaeological material, some of which has been hidden for over 150 years. TMAG has something to offer visitors of all ages and interests whether you are family seeking an educational and engaging experience with the children, a tourist seeking to discover more about Tasmania's history or art lover. Join a free guided tour or browse the galleries to experience TMAG's rich blend of permanent collections, touring and temporary exhibitions and special displays. TMAG is open to the public daily from 1000 to 1700, with the exception of Good Friday, Anzac Day and Christmas Day. Admission is free but donations are always welcome.
Ol' Jacks Cafe and Gallery is located in Rosebery, on Tasmania's West Coast. Come and relax at Ol' Jacks Cafe and Gallery in the gold mining West Coast town of Rosebery. We offer a fresh range of eatery treats whilst gazing at the world class fine art hanging in the gallery. Ol' Jacks Cafe and Gallery is situated in a newly refurbished 90 year old co-op building which has been restored to its former glory. Ol' Jacks Cafe and Gallery can cater for functions and special events with seating for 50 persons or standing for 120 persons. The gallery has emerging local artist exhibitions on a regular basis throughout the year. We offer a guided tour of Rosebery heritage sites and the ghost town of Williamsford . We also offer localised Tarkine and Pieman wilderness fishing and photographic tours. Please enquire. For an experience you will remember, at Ol' Jacks we know you willll be back. Rosebery is a one hour and 29 minute drive (109 kilometres, 68 miles) south of Burnie.
Hobart's Carnegie Gallery features a public exhibition program showcasing contemporary art, craft and design. The Gallery is located in Argyle Street, in the city's central business district. The Carnegie Gallery is owned and operated by the Hobart City Council, and runs an annual program focusing on high-quality, innovative exhibitions. Working actively with the Tasmanian arts sector, the Gallery provides opportunities for Tasmanian contemporary artists, designers and curators to exhibit. The Carnegie Gallery also supports national and international touring exhibitions. The Gallery is located in the Carnegie Building, which was constructed in the early 1900s as the Tasmanian Public Library. The building was funded by Scottish-American benefactor, Andrew Carnegie, who also funded over 2,500 public libraries throughout the world. The Carnegie Gallery is open daily from 10.00am to 5.00pm during exhibitions, with the exception of Good Friday, Easter Sunday and Christmas Day. Entry is free.
The Arboretum is a 66 hectare nature reserve near Devonport in Tasmania's North-West. Only a few kilometres from Devonport but a million miles from care, the 66 hectares of landscape Arboretum, which was founded in 1984, offers you the opportunity to walk among collections of woody plants from around the temperate world, especially including many of Tasmania's plants. Set in a peaceful and beautiful valley, you may see some of Tasmania's wildlife, such as swift parrots and platypus. Cultural and natural heritage combine in the Limestone Heritage Walk, which is free if you self-guide on the walk, and links the geology with a century of human activity contributing to colonial and national development. One hour guided walks are available for a reasonable cost, and can be booked online. Bookings are essential. The Arboretum offers three picnic shelters, 2 general shelters, a platypus observatory and a bird hide on the shore of Flounders Lake. The Tree Park Kiosk offers light refreshments and audio tours, and is operated by volunteers and opens between October and May. Kiosk is open 11am-4pm. Eugenana is 15 minutes' drive (11 kilometres/7 miles) South of Devonport.
The Dunalley Waterfront Cafe and Gallery is a contemporary gallery and eatery in Tasmania's south. Housed within an atmospheric 1942 timber building which was originally a fish cannery supplying overseas troops, the boutique restaurant highlights the best of regional produce, showcases local art and artists, and acts as a cellar door for the acclaimed local Bream Creek Winery. Tastings and sales of Bream Creek wines are available during opening hours. The gallery is situated in the restaurant and local milliners, jewellers and sculptors wares are also on show. Regionally produced jams, preserves and a range of gourmet products are also available for visitors to purchase. Cooking classes are also offered. You can visit the restaurant seven days a week for breakfast and lunch, with dining on Friday and Saturday evenings. Closed on Tuesdays from Easter to December. Dunalley is 48 minutes' drive (56 kilometres/35 miles) from Hobart.
1 on Park Art Gallery overlooks the surf at Park Beach in southern Tasmania. Enjoy views from the sandstone terrace with an organic coffee or tea amidst mosaic sculptures in the garden. The gallery is a large Spanish style building, showcasing local artisans. There are monthly exhibitions specialising in painting, mosaics, photography, sculpture, fashions, ceramics and jewellery. The directors are Patricia Turner Smith and her daughter Eve. Patricia is a graduate from The Tasmanian School of Art, who specialises in painting and mosaics. Eve, a professional artistic photographer, runs her business 'Eve Creative Photografix' based at the gallery. Patricia and Eve have a long history of running art galleries. Visitors are treated to the entire creative experience as demonstrations of art work in progress take place. 1 on Park Art Gallery is located at Dodges Ferry which is 12-minutes' drive (17 kilometres/10.5 miles) from Sorell.
The Kentish Museum is a heritage museum at Sheffield, north west Tasmania. Sheffield is a 40-minute drive south of Devonport (30 kilometres/19 miles) and an hour west of Launceston (93 kilometres/58 miles). The Kentish museum preserves and displays artefacts from Sheffield's history. Exhibits include agricultural machinery, minerals, shop fittings, old books, historical newspapers, pioneer household effects and clothing. The museum also has excellent displays on the history of hydro-electricity in the local area. The Kentish Museum is located in Sheffield's main street and is open from 10am until 3pm each day. Sheffield is known internationally for its collection of public murals, which depict the area's rich history. Since 1986, dozens of murals have been painted in the town, ranging from large scale work by professional painters, to murals by local school children. Sheffield attracts over 100,000 visitors each year who come to admire this collection of public art. The town also hosts the annual Mural Fest - a national competition of mural art.
Hobart's Allport Library and Museum of Fine Arts is a heritage collection of colonial artefacts. The Museum is located within the State Library of Tasmania in central Hobart. The Library and Museum are housed in a permanent display of Georgian-style rooms. The collection includes colonial paintings and prints, Georgian silver and glass and fine English, French and Chinese porcelain. There are displays of mahogany and walnut furniture dating from 1680, including excellent examples of Chippendale, Sheraton and Hepplewhite. The Library features fine and rare books, manuscripts and photographs dating from the 1800s. The Allport family originally settled in Tasmania in 1831 and played a significant role in Tasmania's artistic, cultural and social development. Work by Mary Morton Allport (1806-1895), one of Australia's earliest notable female artists, features in the collection. Her son, Morton Allport (1830-1878), was a scientist, naturalist and one of Tasmania's earliest photographers, and her granddaughter, Curzona Frances Louise Allport (1860-1949) was also a painter. Cecil Allport (1858-1926) began the collection in 1899. He and his son Henry Allport (1890-1965) were historians, connoisseurs and collectors. Upon his death in 1965, Henry Allport bequeathed the entire collection to the people of Tasmania as a memorial to the Allport family.
Launceston Tramway Museum is about a local Tasmanian community and the trams they used. The Museum evolved out of a restoration society in the 1990's that restored Launceston's only surviving double bogie tram. Located in the historic Inveresk Precinct, within walking distance of the CBD, the Museum features a workshop, a large modern display gallery and access to rail track running through the precinct. You can recapture Launceston's tramway past with a 1940's tram ride and immerse yourself in the sounds and voices of old Inveresk, as you travel along. Inside the gallery you can enjoy Launceston's oldest surviving movie footage and experience a whimsical ramble on the big screen, observing how the city has changed since Victorian times. You may wish to take in the ultimate DIY project, the rebuilding of Launceston's very first tram, or discover whatever happened to the trams when you encounter one which had become a chook house. The Museum is adjacent to good parking, cafes and the Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery. Open daily from January to April 2012 with tram rides on Monday, Wednesdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays.
Unique Bieniek Fine Arts and Gallery is Tasmanian artist Sonja Bieniek's Campbell Town studio. The Gallery is located in a classic Georgian building in the centre of Campbell Town. It features oil paintings by gallery owner and noted portrait and landscape artist Sonja Bieniek, alongside works by other Tasmanian artists. A wide range of work is represented, including woodcraft, glass, textile art and ceramics. Austrian-born artist Sonja Bieniek migrated to Australia in 1950 with her family. Her paintings are in demand with both Australian and overseas collectors. In 2002, Sonja was selected from over 500 entries as a finalist in the prestigious Doug Moran National Portrait Prize - the richest portrait prize in the world. Located in the Tasmanian Midlands, Campbell Town is one-and-a half hours drive north of Hobart (134 kilometres/83 miles) and an hour south of Launceston (68 kilometres/42 miles).
Located in Cygnet, Tasmania is Lovett Gallery operated by the Huon Exhibitions Group. HAEG is primarily a group of local artists that initially got together to support each other and organise exhibitions. They now run their own gallery "Lovett Gallery" to display and market the work of their members. The Gallery is located at the rear of the Town Hall, Mary St, Cygnet and open every weekend, Fridays during daylight savings and most public holidays from 1000 to 1600 HAEG now have 120 members and coordinate two major biennial exhibitions - 'Watermark' and 'Southern Exposure' as well as mini exhibitions for member artists. Works at Lovett Gallery are constantly changing and include paintings in all genres, photography, sculpture, ceramics and jewellery. Some members also produce greeting cards. Works can be viewed anytime on the website. Many tourists and local visitors on the Huon Trail also use the visit to enjoy the cafe culture now blossoming in and around Cygnet. Cygnet is 50 minutes' drive (55 km / 34 mile) south of Hobart.
3 Windows Gallery are an art gallery located in Oatlands, in Tasmania's South. 3 Windows Gallery has an eclectic array of contemporary art, craft and gifts from the locally created, to boutique items from across Australia and far exotic lands. A fantastic range of quality clothing, Tasmanian made Smitten Merino wear and Italian designer knitwear. Art Glass is made on the premises. Also, not to be forgotten is the mezzanine filled to the brim with retro clothing and collectables. We are easy to find at the Northern end of High Street in Oatlands. Oatlands is a one hour and 10 minute drive (83 kilometres, 52 mile) North of Hobart.
The Two Oaks Nursery, Gallery and Café is located at Somerset on Tasmania's northwest coast. Somerset is a ten-minute drive west of Burnie (6 kilometres). The Two Oaks Gallery features a range of work by local artisans. Fine woodcraft, made from Tasmanian specialty timbers such as Huon pine, myrtle and sassafras, are on display. Paintings by local artists, textile crafts and hand made pottery are also included. The craft shop sells Tasmanian produce, including lavender products, honey, preserves and exquisite chocolates. Light lunches are available in the café and the Two Oaks Nursery offers a selection of heritage plants and herbs and locally made terracotta pots. There are a number of galleries, museums and craft shops on Tasmania's northwest coast. Visit the Burnie Regional Art Gallery or discover local history in the Burnie Pioneer Village Museum. Further west at Stanley, you can call into the Stanley Artworks Studio Gallery, to see exquisite Tasmanian wood design.
The Bligh Museum is a privately-run history museum at Adventure Bay, Bruny Island. Bruny Island lies off the south coast of Tasmania and is accessed by a 15-minute car ferry from Kettering, 40 minutes south of Hobart (34 kilometres). Built from thousands of convict-made bricks, the Bligh Museum of Pacific Exploration features a specialised collection relating to exploration in the South Pacific. A display of maps, documents, paintings and other artefacts offers an historical record of visits to Adventure Bay by explorers Captain William Bligh, Captain James Cook, Tobias Furneaux, Matthew Flinders and Admiral Joseph-Antoine Bruny D'Entrecasteaux. Notable works by Tobin, Webber and Hodges are also included in the collection. The Museum's foundation stone was laid on 9th September 1955 - the 200th anniversary of Captain William Bligh's birth. Tobias Furneaux - who accompanied Cook on a voyage of discovery in the HMS Adventure - landed in Adventure Bay in 1773. He replenished his food and water supplies before sailing to New Zealand. Captain James Cook landed at Adventure Bay in 1777. His sailing master, William Bligh, revisited the bay again in 1788, 1792 and 1809. Bligh and his botanist planted the first apple tree in Australia in 1788.
The Cove Gallery is a contemporary art gallery in Strahan on Tasmania's west coast. Strahan is four-and-a-half hours west of Hobart (298 kilometres/185 miles) and south-west of Launceston (290 kilometres/180 miles). The Cove Gallery is part of Strahan's waterfront Risby Cove accommodation complex. The Gallery is housed within a converted, century-old sawmill workshop and the exposed-beam framework compliments an eclectic collection of work by Tasmanian artists. Paintings, photography, jewellery, ceramics and glass and textile art are featured in the collection. Work by Tasmanian furniture designers and sculptors using rare Tasmanian timbers, such as Huon and King Billy pine, sassafras and myrtle, form a significant part of the collection. Artists whose work has been exhibited at Risby Cove include Tasmanian Aboriginal painter Mick Quilliam, local photographer Rick Eaves and sculptural furniture designer James Vaughn. Other galleries in Strahan include the Strahan Woodworks Gallery, where visitors can watch local artisans crafting fragrant Huon Pine, and the Magic Cottage, which features a rainforest garden and artist's studio.
Art at the Point gallery on Bruny Island features works of professional Island artists. Art at the Point represents more than 40 local Bruny Island artists. You can view a range of art works including paintings, prints, silver and lamp worked glass jewellery, textiles, art glass, ceramics, sculpture, hand-made books and art cards. Many local artists exhibit exclusively with Art at the Point. The art works you will experience very often reflect the link that the artists have with the beautiful, natural environment of Bruny Island. Inspiration, colours and images are derived from the native animal and bird life, the marine environment, the native forest and the Island landscape with its connection to the ever changing sea, huge skies and the cliffs and bays. In the same building you can also enjoy a visit to the Jetty Cafe, a licensed cafe which specialises in fresh, locally grown food. The building was designed by award winning architect John Wardle and features local woods, large glassed areas and a deck where you can relax and enjoy the wonderful view across the D'Entrecasteaux Channel from Bruny Island. Bruny Island is a 33 minute drive (31 kilometres / 19 miles) from Hobart to Kettering, then by Ferry to the Island.